fbpx

Kat Alioshin

Kat Alioshin

Producteur Exécutif

Kat a débuté sa carrière en animation en volume en 1991 avec les Noces Funèbres puis Coraline en 2009. Pour le film James et la Pêche géante elle était l’assistante réalisatrice de Henry Selick et poursuit sa collaboration avec lui. Elle était directrice artistique de Some Divine Wind, aujourd’hui dans la collection permanente du MoMA de New-York. Le film hybride volume/prise de vue réelle, Mermaids on Mars, remporte le Carmel Film Festival Animation mais aussi 21 autres prix. Elle produit également les courts métrages Life with Loopy sur Nickelodeon dans le programme KaBlam!

Passionnée par toutes les formes d’animation elle est spécialisée dans l’animation en volume, son premier amour ! Impliquée dans l’évolution de l’animation en volume, elle participe aux podcasts The We Know Jack Show interviewant l’équipe des Noces funèbres.

A la fin de ses études, Kat participe au long métrage Break of Dawn. Kat déménage à Los Angeles en 1987 et travaille sur plusieurs long métrages indépendants comme chef accessoiriste. Un des plus films les plus connus Murder in Law avec Joe Estevez (frère cadet de Martin Sheen). Après deux années intenses à Hollywood, elle rejoint San Francisco en 1989 et poursuit son travail sur des longs métrages, clips et films de commande en tant qu’assistante de production sur Dying Young, Pacific Heights et MC Hammer’s Pray parmis tant d’autres.

Kat fait partie du Spike & Mike festival à San Diego et traverse l’ensemble de la Californie réalisant un documentaire sur le festival sur les écran en 2020 : Animation Outlaws. Animation Outlaws releasing in 2020.

fbpx

Kat Alioshin

Kat Alioshin

Executive Producer

Kat has been working in stop motion animation since 1991. Starting with The
Nightmare Before Christmas through Coraline in 2009. On James and the Giant Peach she was Assistant Director to Henry Selick and continues to collaborate with him. She was DP for Some Divine Wind, which is now on permanent collection at NYMoMA. The stop motion-live action mixed short, Mermaids on Mars, won the Carmel Film Festival Animation award along with 21 other festival awards across the country. She received attention for Producing Life with Loopy on the Nickelodeon show KaBlam!

She is passionate about all forms of animation but specializes in stop motion  production. Continuing in a tradition of keeping stop motion history alive, she co-hosts a podcast called The We Know Jack Show by interviewing crew from The Nightmare Before Christmas.

Before working in animation, Kat worked her last college quarter at UCSD on a feature film called Break of Dawn by assisting the prop master. Kat moved to Los
Angeles in 1987 and worked on several low budget features as property master assistant. One notable film was Murder in Law with Joe Estevez (Younger brother of Martin Sheen). Having paid her dues in Hollywood, she moved to San Francisco in 1989 and continued working on features, music videos and countless TV  commercials. Starting at the PA level, she worked on Dying Young, Pacific Heights and MC Hammer’s Pray to name a few highlights.

Kat met Spike and Mike in 1985 in San Diego and was part of the publicity and  ticket sales team. She traveled with them up and down the California coast. She has remained a close friend to Spike and will be making a documentary about Spike and Mike’s Festival of Animation, called Animation Outlaws releasing in 2020.